Autodidact, Polymath, Self Help, Self Improvement

The Pantheon of Self

In my previous post I started to talk about The Pantheon of Self and I eluded to its structure but I didn’t really give you much else to go. As promised though, here is the deep dive. If you reference the above image you will see one of the better public domain pictures of the Pantheon in Rome. It is a very iconic structure and its architecture has inspired a great many building designs in the world. My own personal favorite is the clock tower in the movie series Back to the Future. It also inspired the design for my personal visualization of the self.

For my vizualization the roof represents the core of who you are and then the supports or Pillars of Self represent different aspects of your life that keep you supported across the four fundamental aspects of life: Physical, Mental, Emotional, and Spiritual. During my studies I have always really enjoyed ancient civilizations and the development of culture. I hold fast to Maselow’s Heirarchy of Needs and the fact that the stabalization of subsistance is what allowed culture and civilization to develop. I am simpy buildinng on Maselow’s ideas because if you live in any first world and most second world countires you are no longer really making decisions based apon the heirarchy because all of your needs are being met in some small way at least (this is one of my great assumptions). What that means though is we now have the ability/capacity to reflect apon the aspect of our life and then take deliberate and calcualted steps to improve those aspects.

This is how I will work to becoming a “Cyber Renaissance Man”. Over the next several months (and hopefully the foresable future) I am going to be setting improvement goals rooted within the four aspects of life. Something that is taught a lot about goal setting is the idea of attainability and breaking larger goals into smaller milestones so continous progress can be seen. That is where the eight Pillars of Self come into play. These represent my intent to break down larger goals into smaller ones. Instead of saying that I am going to work on improving myself physically, mentally, emotionaly, or spiritually; I am going to work on my Fitness or Wellness, my Aptitute or Academics, my Intamacy or Comradery, or my Inner Peace or Self Knowledge. 

I feel I must make the point that these are MY interpretations of the Pillars of Self. I am a great fan of the experiment that is The Pantheon of Self, but I by no means think that my interepritation is the one and only way to categorize or breakdown what makes up the self. Please feel free to change out the categories or even add more if you like. I am just a slave to symmetry and enjoy the tideness of the above structure. If you do decide to adopt this approach to self improvemnet please let me know what changes you make to it or if you have any suggestions or additonal thoughts that you would like to share. The ability to continouly adapting your approach is key to truely reaching your full potential (in my opinion).

I hope The Pantheon fo Self and the Pillars of Self now make a little more sense to you. The first aspect I am going to focus  on is my Physical aspect. This is because, although each aspect plays an equally important role in making up and supporting who you are, I would be lieing to you and myself if I said that your physical state didn’t have an effect on things like brain function, hormonal balance, and stress relief (read mental, emotional, spiritual).

As always, If you have any questions, comments, concerns…gripes, complaints…bitches, pisses, moans you know where to leave them.

Standard

Leave a Reply

