Autodidact, Polymath, Self Help, Self Improvement

What The Heck is Cyber Renaissance?

I am hoping this phrase has sparked some curiosity but I am sure it has caused some confusion. So what do I mean by Cyber Renaissance? Well I first heard the phrase after reading an article about the artistic styling of the video game Deus Ex: Human Revolution by Eidos Montreal (Square Enix). They used the concept to help drive the visual aesthetics of the costuming, architecture, and decoration of the world they created. It is a great game that questions how far is to far when talking scientific advancement and changing what it means to be ‘human’ but that is for a different blog. Being 70 year old man in a 20 something year old body, I really related to the concept of merging the old with the new.

How do we as a society preserve the great things about traditional society while still living in the modern era? It is almost an oxymoron. Where do you draw the line between traditional methods and modern conveniences? I hope to define my own version of that of the course of this journey. What this really boils down to is I have a vision of my ideal self. It is someone that holds true to the traditional, all be it romanticized version, of a gentlemen, educated in a wide variety of hard and soft sciences, and versed in historical and modern culture. An ancient man with a modern skill set. I must admit I was heavily influenced by films like Kate and Leopold and most recently authors such as Jane Austin.

Now please do not confuse Cyber Renaissance with steampunk or even worse…hipster. This is not about fashion, trends, or even cultural appreciation (all though will happen naturally). Cyber Renaissance is about a personal ideal. I don’t shave with cold water and straight razor because it is cool. I do it because it saves my a metric shit ton on razors and my neck is not nearly as irritated. This is about preserving traditions that helped make our ancestors great while using modern advancements in technology and thinking to further ourselves as a species.

Too many people have allowed modern conveniences to make them lazy. We are evolving into a society that uses technology as a crutch instead of using it as a tool to further ourselves. Never before in the history of the world has so much knowledge been available to so many and yet we abuse the Internet as our stage to peacock for others and share silly memes/videos. Now, I am not saying that using social media is a bad thing. It is a great tool for sharing information with family and friends. It aids in spreading humor to millions. It spreads awarness of national and international issues. Most importantly it gives entire nations a way to communicate with the outside world (see Arab Spring).

The key to becoming a Cyber Renaissance Man is leveraging modern technologies and convinences as a tool to futher our personal development across all aspects of life. That brings me to the bases of my approach during this process. About a year ago I came up with the idea of The Pantheon of Self; it is a method of breaking down aspects of Self into four categories: Physical, Mental, Emotional, and Spiritual. I then broke those down into two sub-categories leaving eight Pillars of Self that are to be improved. Look for my next post where I will provide a deep dive into The Pantheon of Self and the individual Pillars of Self.

As always, If you have any questions, comments, concerns…gripes, complaints…bitches, pisses, moans you know where to comment.

Standard

Leave a Reply

